Intimacy

I see a lot of posts about godspousery from people talking about their sex lives with deities. Personally, I think they’re missing the point. They claim in these posts that they’re asked about it all the time, so they are simply sharing their experiences. However, it feels to me as if they want to be asked and are volunteering this information.

I don’t want to know about your sex life. I don’t want to know if you think Loki fucks you. Please stop volunteering this information. If you’re asked, maybe you should keep it private. I don’t want to tell other godspouses what to do, but I do wish they’d keep some things to themselves.

Intimacy isn’t sex. Intimacy is much deeper than that.

Couple walking beside river on misty winter day.
Couple walking beside river on misty winter day.

What am I getting at? There is a sense of domesticity in our relationship with our gods. We make food for them and give them the first tastes. I engage in Conspicuous Waste. It’s that much more in terms of a “first taste.” I have experienced things beyond comprehension. Thor and his family are welcome in my home at all times. Some gods are only invited in at certain times; however, they are always welcome.

In terms of intimacy, it is very much like a relationship with a mortal. I cook, He asks what’s for dinner. I read a book, He makes jokes while sharing my company. I ask for help, He is there to comfort me. It’s not necessarily a 24/7 relationship, but neither is a mortal relationship unless you are living together. Even then, there are times when a spouse needs time to themselves. If you do literally everything together, then one or both of the couple will lose their mind(s).

In a blog post entitled, “An Outsider’s View Of Godspousery”, magickfromscratch shared something I found interesting:

The gods are not abstractions. These intimate, domestic relationships that the gods are having with humans may exist to illustrate just that. Not every person is cut out for non-stop, constant gnostic intimacy with a deity, but those whose spirituality fairs better without it can be reminded that the gods feel love, happiness, anger, concern, lust and sometimes even fear. Their hearts can be broken, just like ours. When they call someone, “husband,” or “wife,” or “spouse,” it can help us to understand that.”

I absolutely agree. Not everyone will like or be able to handle non-stop, constant gnostic intimacy with a deity. That’s okay. Much like a mortal marriage, godspousery isn’t meant for everyone.

I believe that entering into a relationship with a deity opens yourself to them and vice versa. The deity opens him/herself to you. If you are chosen for mysticism/godspousery, I believe there’s something to be learned from that. It’s a difficult, insane path to take. It’s absolutely terrifying at times. However, the rewards are so worth it. I wouldn’t change it for the world. I love the intimacy I have with Thor.

2aaa5db3d317b536866226f1b2cb1ecf

 

Leave a comment